Still: a Self Portrait

I go through life; take one, and two, and three
Try taste and taste, let troubles slide away;
Perhaps afraid to find out what is me–
Perhaps resigned to be it anyway.

When moss is undisturbed, what of the stone?
Its weight and balance still remain the same.
A well still runs as deep when left alone–
I still am me if no one knows my name.

I taught myself one thing: to take delight
Where I can find it–let the earth slip by;
I won’t let all my burdens stop my flight
I only wish that you could also fly.

Though I will still be me if I’m unheard,
If you hear, fly with me: I’ll be your bird.

format:sonnet

Leave a Reply

