Villanelle

A sparrow swoops through the grey skies
and no one sees it fall behind;
a curtain falls behind my eyes.

But no one seems to realize
that I am locked within my mind.
A sparrow swoops through the grey skies.

I watch the sparrow as it flies
and hope that I’m not going blind–
a curtain falls behind my eyes.

And there is something on the rise
but it is nothing I can find;
a sparrow swoops through the grey skies.

I try to sort through all the lies
for nothing seems to be defined–
a curtain falls behind my eyes.

There is no place among the wise
for one to whom truth’s been unkind;
a sparrow swoops through the grey skies,
a curtain falls behind my eyes.

format: villanelle

Leave a Reply

